April 27, 2024, 11:55:44 am

Author Topic: S10 finalist interview: Daselend  (Read 1283 times)

Offline FML|red7z7

• Administrator
  • Super-Blademaster
    • View Profile
  • B.net Account: red7z7
  • Coins: 284
  • Race: Undead
S10 finalist interview: Daselend
« on: October 05, 2011, 03:56:11 pm »
Daselend, the orc legend, has taken the time to grace the community with the next wonderful interview in this series. Check out what this FFA master has to say!

Hello congratulations on making it into the FML season 10 finals. Can you tell us a little about yourself? Like where are you from, how old are you, what do you study or what do you do as a job, etc?
Hey, my name is Paul and I am currently studying German philology as well as law and business (needless to say, I like the first one the most...). I'm 23 years old and live in Vienna, Austria.

When did you start playing FFA, and what is your favorite part of FFA?
About 5 years ago (shit...). My favorite part is when I overcome teaming without resorting to manipulation of any kind.

What do you consider to be the best spell in FFA, and why?
Difficult question, but I'll say it's healing wave (lvl 3). There is no other spell that synergises so well with the arguably best standard orc army composition.

To give us some insight into your success so far, could you tell us how you prepare for your FML matches, if at all? Do you research your opponents, come up with special plans according to the map and races, etc?
When I first started FFA, I actually did try out certain creeping routes on various maps. Once being confident in most of my creeping routes, I basically stopped preparing and focused on micro as well as improving my terrible macro during regular ladder games. I usually don't have a certain game plan, I feel like the volatility of spawns, races and resulting gameflows in FFA is too high for rigid play. For the same reasons I never practice, I just try not to be too rusty in terms of control.